LogoOpening times | Contact | Links | About
Logo

 

 

 

 

 

 

DE | EN

The history

The ««Stägerstübli» in the early days

The history of the «Stägerstübli» goes back to 1901. Fritz Stäger, his wife Margrith and their daughters Ida, Rosa, Lina and Martha lived in Gidisdorf (Lauterbrunnen) during the winter back then. In the summer, they moved up to Mürren to what is now «Chalet Vreneli» with the «Exile on Mainstreet» shop. In the first year of the twentieth century, Fritz Stäger had a new house built next to his summer residence – the current «Stägerstübli».
Throughout the summer, the Stäger family sold wood carvings and lace products to tourists. On the ground floor of the new house, daughters Martha and Lina opened the «Confiserie» tea room.
After Lina had emigrated to America, Martha continued to run the «Confiserie» alone and, in addition to coffee and cakes, sold a home-made drink which rapidly came to be known as «Stägergift» (Stäger poison). The recipe for this home-made concoction has always remained a well-kept secret.
Around 1950, an extension was added to the rear of the building: the annex (and also «Chalet Flora») was constructed using wood from the old Spa Hotel, which was to be knocked down following a fire. The new room was laid out for playing the card game of jass and was reserved for the locals, who were then no longer allowed in the restaurant.
Ida, the oldest of the Stäger daughters, married Peter von Allmen from Mürren. For many years, they ran a grocery shop in what had previously been the Stäger family's summer residence. This was subsequently converted into a drugstore by Fritz Junger (and later became the current «Exile on Mainstreet»).
No one is quite sure now as of when Martha Stäger let out the «Confiserie». At all events, the Greischberger family ran the restaurant up until 1964. Following this, Emmi Schär and Hermann «Nagoli» Braunbeck took over until 1967.
The restaurant was given its current name of «Stägerstübli» by Margrith von Allmen, the owner of the Blumenthal Hotel, who leased the «Confiserie» and ran it together with the hotel for a short time. In the winter of 1970/71, «Hittis Fritz» (Fritz von Allmen) and Lotti von Allmen took over as tenants of the «Stägerstübli». They ran the restaurant up until the mid-1970s. After Martha Stäger's death in 1973, ownership passed to Peter von Allmen who had purchased the building from the estate.
Hans and Hermine Rubin then ran the restaurant from 1975 to 1986.

Murren

From the past into the present


It was at this time that the Gertsch era commenced: after taking over the «Stägerstübli» restaurant (where Lydia Betschart had worked since 1990), Ruedi Gertsch then bought the whole building in 1993. Lydia and Ruedi married in 1996 and, in the autumn of that same year, Ruedi Junior was born. It was during this decade too that a start was made on the step-by-step conversion of the building.
Building work was conducted on the first and second floors from 1998 to 2000. A year later, work commenced on the kitchen, and a kitchen for preparing fruit and vegetables was installed in the cellar.
The «Stägerstübli» was enhanced still further in 2007 when the terrace was redeveloped. The installation of an oil-fired heating system then necessitated major structural alterations once again. Following the redesign of the restaurant (Säli) and lounge in 2010, the building has now arrived in the present, pampering its guests with culinary delights in what is a particularly spacious, light and cosy atmosphere.

Murren 1940

Info

In 2011, Fritz von Allmen, an amateur historian with an interest in folklore, published a guide entitled «Rundgang durch Mürren» with a dictionary of the Mürren dialect. This met with a great deal of interest and had to be reprinted. Only a few copies are still available today. In 2013, his new book of interesting facts on the people of the local region was published under the title «Allergattig Interessants uber frieijer von Miren, Gimelwald, Stächelbärg, Iseflue und Luterbrunnen».

The history of the Stägerstübli was compiled on the basis of research conducted by Lydia Gertsch amongst her regular guests and the inhabitants of Mürren.

Restaurant Staegerstuebli – Tiefblick

You will find more history about Murren here…

LogoÖffnungszeiten | Kontakt | Links | Impressum
Logo

 

 

 

 

 

 

DE | EN

Die Geschichte

Die Anfänge des «Stägerstüblis» 

Die Geschichte des «Stägerstüblis» beginnt 1901. Fritz Stäger, seine Frau Margrith und die Töchter Ida, Rosa, Lina und Martha wohnten damals im Winter in Gidisdorf (Lauterbrunnen) und im Sommer in Mürren, im heutigen Chalet «Vreneli», mit dem Laden «Exile on Mainstreet». Neben diesem Sommerwohnsitz liess Fritz Stäger im ersten Jahr des neuen Jahrhunderts ein Haus bauen, das heutige «Stägerstübli».
Die Familie Stäger verkaufte den Sommer über Holzschnitzereien und Klöppel-Produkte an Touristen. Im Erdgeschoss des neuen Hauses eröffneten dann die Töchter Martha und Lina das Tea Room «Confiserie».
Nachdem Lina nach Amerika ausgewandert war, wirkte Martha alleine weiter in der «Confiserie» und verkaufte neben Kaffee und Kuchen ein Hausgetränk, das bald unter dem Namen «Stägergift» bekannt wurde. Das Rezept für diese Eigenkreation war und blieb ein wohlgehütetes Geheimnis.
Um 1950 erfolgte eine Erweiterung des hinteren Hausteils: der Anbau (wie auch das Chalet Flora) wurde mit Holz des alten Kurhauses, dessen Abriss nach einem Brand bevorstand, errichtet. Der neue Raum wurde als Jass-Stübli eingerichtet und war den Einheimischen vorbehalten, die ab in der Gaststube keinen Zutritt mehr hatten.
Die älteste Stäger-Tochter, Ida, heiratete Peter von Allmen aus Mürren. Das Ehepaar führte jahrelang im früheren Sommerhaus der Familie Stäger ein Comestible-Geschäft. Dieses wurde später von Fritz Junger in eine Drogerie umgewandelt (aus der dann das heutige «Exile on Mainstreet» entstand).
Ab welchem Jahr Frl. Stäger die Confiserie verpachtet hat, weiss heute niemand mehr so genau. Auf jeden Fall hat die Familie Greischberger das Lokal bis 1964 geführt. Emmi Schär zusammen mit Hermann «Nagoli» Braunbeck wirteten danach bis 1967.
Den heutigen Namen «Stägerstübli» erhielt das Gasthaus von Margrith von Allmen, der Inhaberin des Hotel Blumenthal, welche die «Confiserie» pachtete und für kurze Zeit zusammen mit den Hotel geführt hat. Im Winter 1970/71 ging das «Stägerstübli» in die Pacht von «Hittis Fritz» (Fritz von Allmen) und Lotti von Allmen über. Sie führten das Gasthaus bis Mitte der 70er-Jahre. Besitzer wurde nach dem Tod von Frl. Stäger 1973 Peter von Allmen, der das Haus aus der Erbschaft gekaufte hatte.
Von 1975 bis 1986 führten Hans und Hermine Rubin das Restaurant.

Murren

Vom Gestern ins Heute


Danach beginnt die Ära Gertsch: nach der Übernahme des Restaurants «Stägerstübli» (wo Lydia Betschart seit 1990 arbeitete), kauft Ruedi Gertsch 1993 das ganze Haus. Lydia und Ruedi heiraten 1996 und im Herbst des gleichen Jahres kommt Ruedi Junior zur Welt. In diesem Jahrzehnt beginnt auch die schrittweise Umgestaltung des Hauses.
Der Umbau des ersten und zweiten Stocks erfolgt in den Jahren 1998 bis 2000, ein Jahr später wird die Küche in Angriff genommen und im Keller eine Rüstküche eingerichtet.
Eine attraktive Aufwertung erfährt das «Stägerstübli» 2007 mit der Neugestaltung der Terrasse. Nochmals grosse bauliche Veränderungen erfordert der Einbau einer Ölheizung. Nach der Neugestaltung von Säli und Gaststube 2010 ist das Haus nun in der Gegenwart angekommen und verwöhnt seine Gäste nicht nur mit Kulinarischem, sondern auch mit viel Platz, viel Licht und viel Gemütlichkeit.

Mürren 1940

Hintergrund

Im Jahre 2011 gab der Hobby-Historiker und Volkskundler, Fritz von Allmen einen «Rundgang durch Mürren» und ein Wörterbuch für den Mürrener Dialekt heraus. Die Schrift fand grosses Interesse, musste nachgedruckt werden, und heute sind nur noch wenige Exemplare vorhanden. 2013 erschien sein neues Buch «Allergattig Interessants uber frieijer von Miren, Gimelwald, Stächelbärg, Iseflue und Luterbrunnen».

Die Geschichte des Stägerstüblis entstand aus Recherchen von Lydia Gertsch bei Stammgästen und Einwohnern.

Restaurant Staegerstuebli um 1901


Zu mehr Geschichtlichem rund um Mürren geht’s hier…